I’m writing to save our lives.

I created this blog because I need space for my resistance, and to help my friends and I survive the oppressive administration that’s currently running our country.

On January 20, 2017, Donald Trump was sworn in as the 45th president of the United States, despite losing the popular vote to Hillary Clinton by 3 million votes and interference from both the FBI and Russia. In the week since he’s been president, Trump has signed several destructive executive orders including the repeal of the ACA and a ban on immigrants and refugees entering the country from certain Muslim countries. The White House website has been stripped of any mentions of LGTBQ issues, climate change, and other causes that are essential to the health and safety of our nation. Every single one of his cabinet picks is unqualified for the position and seem more interested in destroying the departments they’ve been chosen for. He’s brought back the Global Gag rule which restricts funding to organizations that provide information on abortion. And these are just the things I can recall from the top of my head.

Years ago I read a phrase, “the political is personal”. This quote is even more true now, as the policies of Trump and the GOP have a significant effect on my life and the lives of everyone I care about. I feel like I’m drowning in the waterfall of bullshit that’s coming from D.C., but at the same time I’m buoyed by the hope brought by reading about protests, discussing my feelings with friends, and raising awareness for different organizations that are working to preserve the safety and dignity of those affected by Trump & Co.

Over the next four years, I hope to use this space not just as a timeline for the never ending fuckery coming from the White House, but to be a source of help and a haven to all of us resisting hate, as well as a chronicle of my personal feelings and anecdotes based on my specific experience as a human being in the current struggle against fascism and oppression. Welcome to my resistance. I am writing to save my life, and yours, for our liberation is bound up together.

Leave a Reply

